Foundation Stage Curriculum

Our Early Years Foundation Stage seeks to provide a secure foundation for all future learning, giving our children the skills to thrive and succeed with confidence and independence across the curriculum.

The Early Years Foundation Stage comprises of three Prime Areas and four Specific Areas.

Areas of Learning and Development
Prime Areas of LearningSpecific Areas of Learning
Communication and LanguageEnglish
Physical DevelopmentMathematics
Personal, Social and Emotional DevelopmentUnderstanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design
Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons

New Starters Facebook Posts

Load more posts

FS Curriculum Overview

For further information please click the following links:

At Acre Heads, each of the seven areas of learning are implemented through a combination of planned and child-initiated play opportunities within the indoor and outdoor provision. The Early Years Foundation Stage also embraces three Characteristics of Learning.

Characteristics of Effective Learning

Playing and exploring – engagement
Active learning – motivation
Creating and thinking critically – thinking

The Characteristics of Learning are at the heart of our Early Years Foundation Stage and are promoted to support children’s development into self-sufficient and confident learners. Our children are encouraged to use skills such as evaluating and reasoning within their learning and play, to collaborate and share thoughts and ideas with others, and to persevere when things get difficult.